Saturday, 25 April 2015

Aparigraha explained

Aparigraha, the last component of Yama as per Patanjali, Yoga Sutra 2.30 has been explained by Sandeep Balakrishna under the title "Aparigraha: A forgotten value" recently published on Indiafacts is worth read and the article has revealed the actual aims and value of  Aparigraha.
Here are a few lines from the article for ready references. We can begin by looking at this verse which lists the components of the first anga (limb) of Patanjali’s Ashtanga Yoga:

अहिंसासत्यास्तेय ब्रह्मचर्यापरिग्रहाः यमाः ||
Non-violence, Non-falsehood, Non-stealing, Non-cheating (celibacy, chastity), and Non-possessiveness are the five Yamas.
—Patanjali, Yoga Sutra 2.30
Aparigraha, the last component of Yama (Dos), the first Anga, is what we shall examine in the rest of this essay. When we break down the compound word Aparigraha, we get this:
A (No, non) + Parigraha (to amass, to seize, to covet, to possess) = Non-covetousness or non-possession. The scope of the word encompasses both the external and the inner “world,” so to say. In the context of the external world, it includes attachment to all worldly possessions like land, money, jewellery, gifts, etc. In the context of the inner world, it both means—but is not limited to—an attitude of non-possession and an absence of attachment towards material possessions and rewards. It also implies cultivating a state of mind where one does the good or the right thing because it is good or the right thing to do without anticipating any reward or praise in return for doing so.

Photo & Details at Source :

No comments:

Post a comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...